Message Categories

Four general categories of unnumbered messages exist, although some messages fall into more than one category:
  • Routine information
  • Assertion-failed messages
  • Administrative action needed
  • Unrecoverable error detected

Technical Support uses the assertion-failed messages to assist in troubleshooting and diagnostics. The information that they report often falls into the category of unexpected events that might or might not develop into problems caught by other error codes. Moreover, the messages are terse and often extremely technical. They might report on one or two isolated statistics without providing an overall picture of what is happening. This information can suggest to technical support possible research paths.

Copyright© 2018 HCL Technologies Limited