Back up after dropping a storage space

If you create a storage space with the same name as the deleted storage space, perform another level-0 backup to ensure that future restores do not confuse the new storage space with the old one. For more information, see the IBM® Informix® Backup and Restore Guide.
Important: After you drop a dbspace, blobspace, or sbspace, the newly freed chunks are available for reassignment to other dbspaces, blobspaces, or sbspaces. However, before you reassign the newly freed chunks, you must perform a level-0 backup of the root dbspace and the modified storage space. If you do not perform this backup, and you subsequently must perform a restore, the restore might fail because the backup reserved pages are not up-to-date.

Copyright© 2019 HCL Technologies Limited