HPL logfile message categories

Four general categories of messages can be defined, although some messages fall into more than one category:
  • Routine information
  • Assertion-failed messages
  • Administrative action needed
  • Fatal error detected

The assertion-failed messages reflect their traditional use by technical staff to assist in troubleshooting. The information that they report often falls into the category of unexpected events that might or might not develop into problems caught by other error codes. Moreover, the messages are terse and often technical. They might report on one or two isolated statistics and not provide an overall picture.

When technical staff investigate a problem, this information can suggest to them possible research paths. However, you might find that the information has little or no application when it is taken out of this context, or when processing proceeds normally.

Copyright© 2018 HCL Technologies Limited